One of the philosophers was asked: “How would you choose your woman”? So he replied


سئل احد الفلاسفه كيف تختار امراتك فاجاب……. ؟؟؟؟؟

لا أريدها جميلة، فيطمع فيها غيري.. ولا قبيحة، فتشمئز منها نفسي..

ولا طويلة، فأرفع لها هامتي..ولا قصيرة، فأطأطئ له رأسي..

ولا سمينة، فتسد على منافذ النسيم.. ولا هزيلة، فأحسبها خيالي..

ولا بيضاء مثل الشمع.. ولا سوداء مثل الشبح..

ولا جاهلة فلا تفهمني.. ولا متعلمة فتجادلني..

ولا غنية فتقول هذا مالي.. ولا فقيرة فيشقى من بعدها ولدي 


One of the philosophers was asked: “How would you choose your woman”? So he replied…

I don’t want her beautiful (for fear) others may want her, nor ugly that myself feels repulsed from her

Nor tall so that I lift my head for her, nor short that I bow my head for her

Nor fat so that she blocks the pathways of fresh air, nor skinny so that I presume her to be my fantasy

Nor uneducated so that she does not understand me, nor educated so that she argues with me

Nor white like wax, nor black like a spectre

Nor rich so she says: “That’s my money!”, nor poor so my child suffers after me..

The point being with all these conditions, you’re going to stay one lonely old man. And what truly separates us is Taqwa, if only we knew..

Originally found the piece here: http://www.naturalarabic.com/article.php?artid=10788#name

 

Just didn’t agree with some of the translation so I thought I would give it a go myself.

 

Allahu a’lam.

5 Comments

  1. Umm Sulaym said,

    May 11, 2012 at 11:07 pm

    Is the translation complete?

    • mogreen88 said,

      May 12, 2012 at 4:32 am

      Yes believe so. Why you ask?

      • Umm Sulaym said,

        May 12, 2012 at 4:53 am

        Just curious since I’m a beginner and I’m always interested in learning the vocab of the words.

  2. Umm Sulaym said,

    May 12, 2012 at 4:36 am

    My elementary Arabic tells me transl. of this hasn’t been added:

    ولا بيضاء مثل الشمع.. ولا سوداء مثل الشبح..

    Allah SWT knows best.

    • mogreen88 said,

      May 12, 2012 at 4:59 am

      No you are correct must have over looked it. InshAllah will type it up later. Jazak Allah khairan well spotted.


Leave a Reply

